Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

Delaying invasion by stacking throwaway fleets?

Copied to clipboard!
10 years ago
Apr 25, 2014, 1:43:44 PM
Hey all. I'm new to these forums and to Endless Space in general so apologies if this has been discussed.

This mechanic seems broken to me. I like the fleet based combat system but the ability to delay invasion with huge numbers of throwaway fleets doesn't feel right. If those fleets don't pose any real threat to the attacking fleet then it doesn't make sense for them to be able to prevent an invasion. It's also not fun. What do you guys think?

I have limited experience with this game but two ideas I had to fix that would be:

1. Limit the number of fleets (or CP worth of fleets), per faction, which can be in orbit around a system. Additional fleets above this limit would only be able to pass through the system (assuming it wasn't blockaded).

or

2. Defending fleets would only be able to prevent the initiation of ground invasion. Siege invasion could begin immediately, or perhaps after the attacker defeats the first defending fleet.

Thoughts?
0Send private message
10 years ago
Apr 25, 2014, 2:32:29 PM
To be honest it is just a tactic the AI use and unlikely to be changed, I suggest you try multiplayer if this bothers you. Also, have you tried going to a different system? The AI usually only concentrate on defending a few systems at a time. On the other hand you can also split your fleets up and use much smaller fleets to clean up the AI's.
0Send private message
10 years ago
Apr 25, 2014, 3:05:57 PM
Thanks for the response.

Adventurer_Blitz wrote:
To be honest it is just a tactic the AI use and unlikely to be changed

Does it not work very well in multiplayer for some reason? Can you explain? Or do players simply not do it because it isn't fun?