Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

How do I get privateers?

Copied to clipboard!
10 years ago
Sep 20, 2014, 10:39:49 PM
So I was playing a custom faction based on Broken Lords and I decided to research the Privateers technology in Era 5.

But.. how do I make the privateer army? I don't see any specific option or button on the interface...

Is the privateer function only available to the Roving Clans? tbh, I've never tried the Roving Clans before so I can't be sure.

But even if it was for Roving Clans ONLY, it means that the tech itself should not have appeared for me in the first place, correct?

Could this be a bug? I'm confused smiley: confused

EDIT: Oh nevermind guys, I found out how to do it!

Apparently, first you select an army you already have. Then you click on the button that says "PRIVATEERS" in the army "action" window at the bottom. All's well that ends well I suppose... smiley: kitty
0Send private message
10 years ago
Sep 20, 2014, 11:32:20 PM
The units also need to be from non-faction units - Only way you can effectively hide their allegiance. smiley: redface
0Send private message
10 years ago
Sep 21, 2014, 1:00:37 AM
Actually you can turn privateers units bought from the marketplace only. So it doesn't work from minor faction units you produced yourself (available with assimilation) but it works with major faction units bought from the marketplace.
0Send private message
10 years ago
Sep 21, 2014, 8:25:25 AM
You're kidding right? Aw man... Wait - How do you tell the two apart visually if you have Marketplace bought and assimilation recruited units of the same unit? (Say you were to merge them into an army at some point)

I'm not I like that particularly much - it makes them very rare. In my Roving Clans game there's only Orcs up for sale and at a whopping 1.6k a piece at level 4. That's more than 9K for a full army of units, anyone can legally attack - in my territory at that.