Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

The Gardener Awakes

Copied to clipboard!
8 years ago
Oct 6, 2016, 4:07:25 PM

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time as a participant in a G2G contest, and I hope that my contribution will at least stick to the rules, and at most inspire others or get me to help create the background of a faction.

Before speaking about my thoughts and the process of making my story, let me unfold it for you.

The story of the Unfallen (500 words)

The great trunk of the Gren Cyp’ress left the hot embrace of the sun, the light invigorating the giant structure and pushing gently on it’s leaves. In it’s core, saplings nourished upon it’s sap, sharing their idle thoughts as they were dormant, twigs and root shuffling slowly in patterned operation of mechanical components, protected behind the bark in the hollows of the most ancient Unfallen, their ship. Sa’ankal BlackThorn watched over their growth, and swam in the slow undulation of memories,  and thoughts of the Unfallen in the collective mind node of the Arboretum.

- Anticipation. Soon we will arrive

- Approval. Awakeness comes.

Images of bathing light, dark and wet soil,  water dripping, came to him. Sa’ankal BlackThorn retracted his mind from the node and instead reached for the mind of the Gren Cyp’ress.

Saplings were youngs, eager to prosper and grow. Sa'ankal Blackthorn knew better, as he had been shown the great schemes of the Unfallen Arboretum. But in this they were right. Soon it will be time to plant their roots in new fertile soil. Saplings would disseminate, blossom and mingle with primitive locals, guide them, and share with them the collective consciousness of the Unfallen.

Then it will be time to reach the stars again, life propagating in our wake, Unfallen consciousness expanding further in the galaxy, ever watchful, always prosperous.

This was his role, to guide the saplings,  shaping their minds in the node of the Arboretum.