Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

Obliterator changes (mild nerf idea)

VictoryShip DesignMilitary

6 years ago
Dec 25, 2018, 5:04:16 AM

I think many people are onboard with the idea that the Obliterator is too good at achieving supremecy victory. As soon as I got the dlc, my first game (I played with AI to test balancing and thank god I did) as the AI all rushed the Obliterator tech and began lighting up the cosmos, I had to repair my star system shield on my capital a million times and pretty much devoted all my resources for the rest of the game on not dying. Now I'm not gonna lie, the idea of a giant spaceship that is a beam weapon of death so strong it can destroy star systems, is fucking awesome, but the fact that both players and the AI just spam production and use of them is just stupid so here are a few changes I would propose. (As I'm not a game developer balance isn't my strong suit so I'm suggesting multiple ideas which can either be implemented on their own in isolation or together if the devs felt it necessary).

1- [Limit the ammount of Obliterators that can be made at once], there may be a cap that I'm not aware of but i know its higher than 3, as I made 3 myself in my last military game. Even 3 is too many in my opinion as in the last 30 to 40 turn stretch of the game I just spent bombarding enemy AI's home systems, its just not cool that a constant bombardment can completely remove you from the game. (I personally think a hard cap of 2 obliterators at any one time is plenty in terms of compromising between balance and utility.