Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

Imperial Ethos, Thoughts Aloud

Copied to clipboard!
11 years ago
Jan 10, 2014, 3:58:44 PM
Hello, Amplitude forums,

I started playing Endless Space around Christmas, got enthralled by its elegance, already clocked 80 hours, and of course by this point I've got some thoughts brewing. So I decided I'd share them, and this seemed like the right place. smiley: stickouttongue

IMPERIAL ETHOS

I've discovered, that no matter my intentions (peaceful/aggressive, industrialist/financier, expansionist/isolationist, etc), my development curve (and research pattern) remained almost the same.

• I'd want to go at least half-way in each direction at the very least for the "essentials" (rare/luxury resources from sciences, 2 tiers of weaponry and artifacts from warfare, colonization and expansion disapproval from exploration, diplomatic options and approval improvements from diplomacy) and some odd faction specials.
  • At this point, which takes quite awhile to reach (some ~80-100 turns), I'm all set for a "take-off", a "singularity" of sorts - an explosion in scientific output followed by massive explosion in FIDS production. Is this the time to specialize? Not really, because progress becomes so rapid, that any "specialization" is of no consequence. See below.
  • Some 20-30 turns later the snowball is an avalanche just waiting out its time to reach the desired victory of choice.

Furthermore, the ethos, character of my empire, is only in my head. The gameplay remains virtually the same either I pretend to be a trader, a scientist or a warmonger. The faction-specific bonuses only slightly adjust the overarching pattern.

Building a Utopia, suspected culprits

I believe that one of the major reasons behind this lack of ethos is that the basic element in any empire largely lacks it. Any system will be a jack of all trades, and can be the master of all depending on population size. I feel like pointing my finger at system improvements.