Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

Looking for assistance

Copied to clipboard!
12 years ago
Aug 19, 2012, 2:12:42 AM
So, I am new to modding. Or rather, new to trying to mod games myself.

I regularly use other people's mods though.

I have been loving Endless Space. Downloaded it off TPB, tried it out, fell in love with it, bought it. Though I intentionally waited until it was taken off the steam sale that was going at the time. It is one of the most polished 4X games I have played.

So, what have I done?

I combined the more anomaly mod and the community bug fix mod. Fairly simple. Then I decided to go and make galaxies larger.

I modified the number of stars and width, for each category. I also added more categories: Huge, Gigantic, Enormous, Massive, Super Massive, Eternal. I also added sparse and dense versions of every category.

Once I learn more I am hoping to redo racial traits.

However, I would like some assistance regarding the sample trait that is in "FactionTrait.xml". The trait "TraitCreateFleetColonizers" does not function. I removed the hidden xml declaration, started a game. It didnt function. Does anyone know how to get it to function?

Has anyone discovered how to add new affinities?

Edit: Also, to the developers, what is the maximum number of star systems that the game can support, given a reasonably powerful computer (almost 4ghz quad core, hyper threading, 24gb of ram)?

Further Edit: Which XML file contains the information about ship types/ship components. Where would these files be placed when moved into a "modding/subdirectory" structure so as to not overwrite the original?
0Send private message
12 years ago
Aug 19, 2012, 4:55:06 AM
I'm pretty sure that trait is designed to not be listed, you would have to manually add it to the traits list for it to work. Otherwise, you could manually add it to a race (hidden or not) and still have it work.
0Send private message
0Send private message
12 years ago
Aug 19, 2012, 5:25:29 AM