Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

Eliminating Technology Tree Costs

Copied to clipboard!
11 years ago
Apr 26, 2013, 6:58:45 PM
Hello All,

I have been playing Endless Space for over a month, and thought I would try my hand at modding. I'm not very technical and have never done anything like this before, so please pardon my asking what may seem like questions with obvious answers.

One of the mods I enjoyed playing with was WhAtEvErYoUmEaN's Sandbox mod. It had some bugs, however, and he has discontinued maintaining and developing it.

One feature I particularly liked about Sandbox was the ability to defray a single feature and see how that would impact the game.

For insance, in Sandbox one might chose to fully eliminate the cost of technology skills. This would make all skills on the Tech trees trainable in one turn.

I am wondering how I might accomplish the same thing -- making all tech trees trainable in one turn -- without using Sandbox?

Thanks ahead of time for your help.

Del
0Send private message
11 years ago
Apr 27, 2013, 3:27:41 AM
Create an improvement with +1kk science, i guess?

Or change the multiplier of one speed to x0.
0Send private message
11 years ago
Apr 27, 2013, 4:04:59 AM
Well this depends on if you mean to make the tech tree trainable easily only for the player, or for all AI factions as well. If the latter, it's easy, albeit a little time consuming unless u have a good text editor that can use regular expressions (notepad++). You'd just open up the 4 tech tree xml files and replace all the Cost="xyz" entries with Cost="0" or Cost="1".

If you'd like to do it for just yourself, i'd say make a new faction trait and have it be science +100,000,000% or something outrageous like that. Then make a custom race and apply that trait to yourself.
0Send private message
11 years ago
Apr 29, 2013, 10:51:00 PM
So if i understood right then what you want is for all techs to be unlocked since turn 1.