Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

[Discussion - Poll] For real-time MP avoiders - Would you try play by email?

I usually prefer my 4X games single player
I usually prefer my 4X games multi-player
I have tried 'Dominions 3' play by email system and enjoyed it
I have tried 'Dominions 3' play by email system and did not enjoy it
I have never tried 'play by email' before / don't know anything about it
I am likely to try/use an Endless Space's 'play by email' if offered
I would approve of a 'play by email' option (though I don't intend to use it)
I would not approve of a 'play by email' option (though I don't intend to use it)
Vote now
Copied to clipboard!
12 years ago
May 27, 2012, 8:11:12 AM
I've never tried play by email, found in a games like Civ4, but for the structure for the game itself (single turn based), i think that my experience with it will begin too slow to enjoy. But, if they will add it, no problem with me, i will likely don't use it.
0Send private message
10 years ago
Jan 22, 2015, 4:44:04 AM
I seriously need this. As a gamer in his mid-late 30s with a family and a business. I rarely have time for huge hours long game binges, AND when I do no one I know does. I'd much rather play a longer thoughtful game with lots of twists and turns than a fast, red-eye game that you can barely fit in.

Frankly, i don't see how you could set up an 8 player game int he current system and ever finish it dealing with everyone's schedules WITHOUT having a asynch turn system. I think email is a silly system to use- you just "send" in your turn through the game and it lets you know when a new turn is available. That way the game can go as fast or as slow as the individual players in that particular game.

Honestly, I'd play a game 1/2 as good as this, that costs twice as much, just to have that feature.

I'd still be playing Stars! if 16-bit executables were supported on a 64-bit platform.
0Send private message
12 years ago
Jun 25, 2012, 8:34:05 AM