Disclaimer, I posted this originally in the design discussion section but it seems here is more appropriate. Not to sure though, but I though id put it here smiley: smile

Hey there everyone, long time lurker and first time poster here. I'm a huge fan of the Endless Space project and design ethos. I'm a veteran 4X strategy player with thousands of hours across GalCiv2, Sins, Star Ruler, CIv and Distant Worlds to name a few

I'm a firm believer in the ethos that the body and soul of any great strategy title will always be built on a solid AI foundation. GalCiv's complete edition enjoys its 93 on Metacritic thanks in large part to an incredibly immersive and complete AI package which serves to envelop you into the IR interplay between empires. Now AI is obviously difficult, and to elevate a system from functional to flawless is in GalCiv's case the work of several expansions and countless patches but some basic design choices can go a massive may to crafting a believable experience. I don't want to sound condescending, obviously Amplitude are the real experts here and my design pedigree is limited to some TW AI mods I worked on with a friend but I honestly feel I have some suggestions which would have an immediate and beneficial on the ES metagame.

All these ideas are just numerical alterations to the modifier system currently in place and would be easily implemented. Don't worry, this isn't a "MY SUgGEstiern : MAK AI beTTAR" post.

Okay first basic principle crucial to a successful 4x ai system is a recognition of power balance and bandwaggoning. The central principle to diplomatic interplay in any sphere is ensuring the scales of influence remained tipped in your favour. This is usually achieved by attempts to balance the arena between opponents. In practice what does this mean? Here are the modifiers I'd propose.

Area 1: Make Alliance Viable

Alliance: +200 (starts at 50 grows)