Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

Diplomacy and Allied Victory

Copied to clipboard!
12 years ago
Mar 29, 2013, 9:39:51 AM
There was an interesting discussion about diplomacy in multiplayer. Taking inspiration from that thread (and without trying to necro it), I think diplomacy can use some tweaks so both single- and multiplayer modes can benefit.

Currently the only condition victory that isn't clearly quantified is the diplomacy victory. Another problem I found is that the game doesn't recognize (and reward) cooperation and teamwork, be it with another player or AI. I'm still new to the game and haven't played any multiplayer matches, but here's what I propose.

• Clearly quantify diplomacy score from each action, so players can develop a better strategy to achieve this victory condition.
  • Tweak Diplomacy Victory condition so that if all existing factions have become allied with one another, the player with highest diplomacy score within the alliance gets Diplomacy Victory.
  • Add "allied victory" to the end-game condition where another faction within the alliance scored a victory, so the game ends no longer with a binary "victory or defeat" scenario.

These suggestion stemmed from my Amoeba experience where it's can be hard to get a diplomatic victory before one of the AIs achieved another form of victory. With these changes, myself and other players who like to win the game by promoting unity, don't go unnoticed when an allied faction wins the game in which we contributed to make their victory possible.

There will also be more metagame introduced with such changes. Since a victory is "better" than an allied victory, players (and AI personalities) need to be more discrete in joining an alliance. And of course, this will be a boon to cooperative multiplayer games, too.
0Send private message
0Send private message
12 years ago
Apr 4, 2013, 4:37:54 AM