Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

What strategy do you use early game?

Copied to clipboard!
12 years ago
May 20, 2012, 7:38:25 AM
Im relatively new to the 4x genre, and not very good at it.

so in the name of enlightenment, I ask you to share your early game strategy. (for the first 50 or so turns)

I usually play as sophon, do the scout thing with both the scout and colony ship.

Start out with a general policy of maximising the population as fast as possible, by research, carefully choosing where to start new colonies and keeping tax as low as possible.

I focus on the bottom and left of the tech trees for as long as I can, occasionally going to the right side to get research boosts.

Heroes are brought in as soon as possible, and put into the fastest growing colonies at first, then moved wherever needs the boost later.

I like to avoid conflict as long as I can, to that end I try to stay in my home constellation and fill it with as many spohon heads as possible.

I keep this up as long as possible, so when war arrives I can smash through half the war tree in 5 turns and start building the most advanced ships in the galaxy.

I'd like to hear how you guys do it?
0Send private message
12 years ago
May 20, 2012, 1:43:51 PM
I like to expand slower than most and make sure I have a hefty fleet. Check out the tutorial linked in my signature, it goes over an entire game but the beginning most certainly has the most detail.
0Send private message
12 years ago
May 20, 2012, 2:36:31 PM