Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

Increased number of Stars

Copied to clipboard!
12 years ago
May 31, 2012, 6:57:16 AM
DeamonStorm wrote:
Im glad you are all finding this helpful. I have done some more tinkering with these settings and discovered the following:

1. If you leave the strategic resource and luxury resources alone, on a large map with more stars, resources become scarce.

2. This means that you will find yourself fighting wars over those resources, which I think is neat.

You're absolutely right. I even would go as far as to make resources really scarce. You could get pitched battles for systems that normally wouldn't be relevant at all, but if it means that you are one of the few that obtains Hyperium for LaZoRs....

I couldn't really be bothered with modding until this point (although I'm a veteran tinkerer), but time to break out the sloppy tea and bad music.
0Send private message
0Send private message0Send private message
12 years ago
Sep 18, 2012, 8:29:49 PM
DeamonStorm wrote:
Okay, I think I figured out how to increase the number of stars in the Galaxy Generator. Here is how:

1. Navigate to steam>steamapps>common>Endless Space>Assets>XML>GalaxyGenerator

2. BACKUP Galaxysettigs.xml. This is important in case you want to go back later to vanilla.

3. Right-Click and Edit GalaxySettings.xml

4. Scroll down till you see this:

5. Edit the 'NumStars' properties for each size of Galaxy to what will suit your tastes.

6. Save and you are done.

Remember that this is the multiplier to the number of stars selected in the 'Advanced' galaxy Options. As such, this can seriously slow down low end systems.

I have a very good PC and I doubled all these values. I then launched a HUGE galaxy with The highest density in the advanced options. It took 15 minutes for the game

to generate the map, but, it did it and Im about to start playing.