Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

AI Modding

Copied to clipboard!
12 years ago
Aug 10, 2012, 10:11:06 AM
Hi,

I've been lurking on these forums for a few weeks while i consider the options for AI modding. Specifically this comment from the devs peaked my interest:

"AI can also be a huge aspect of modding. Right now, we are finishing implementing the last high level code for the AI. The architecture seems to be satisfying, but we have exposed tons of parameters to finely tune the AI during the upcoming months (and we will need your help). I believe these parameters could also be exposed to mod the AI behavior."

I am a PhD engineering student with an interest in optimization, I also work with a guy who is exceptionally good at it (far better then I). Optimization of one or two parameters is typically straight forward, mainly because as humans we can easily visualize a search space in 1-3 dimensions. As you increase the number of parameters you move the goalposts for successful optimization way out of reach of our puny human minds. What I am proposing is to take a more mathematical approach. The most effective approach to this problem in my mind would proceed as follows:

• Identify which parameters relate to AI behaviour
  • Define an objective function, that is a function which returns a measure of "AI quality", this is the hardest part. What criteria makes a good AI? And how do you recover numerical values from played games to enter into this function?
  • Create a Reduced order model defining the relationship between AI quality and AI behaviour parameters
  • Use the Modified cuckoo search algorithm (http://code.google.com/p/modified-cs/) developed by my colleague to efficiently search the parameter space for optimum parameter combinations