Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

Victor Feedback and general thoughts

Copied to clipboard!
3 years ago
Apr 30, 2021, 5:51:36 PM

First of all, this is the first time I am playing any opendevs and therefore giving any feedback. I am however, an avid 4X gamer, and I have played most (if not all) 4X games on pc ever since the first Sid Meier's Civ. Yes, I am that old. That includes space 4X games as well. I am also a middle-school history teacher. So, I have some thoughts and would like to share them as I feel this game has geat potential and hopefully some of these changes can improve the Quality of this game. 

Most important "quality of life" change I'd like to really enjoy the game:

- The era progression is way too fast and not in sync with tech progression. There is a lot happening at once, and you don't have time to enjoy or immerse yourself in the current era, when suddenly it's time to progress to the next. 

- Research should play a much bigger role in era progression, i.e. you need to have researched at least one of the era-relevant technologies in order to progress to said era. Research should be much slower to slow down the overall game progression. Can't stress this enough, this is a make or break deal for me (and many others I believe).

- At least put in an option to have research take longer.

Other QoL changes:

- When building an infrastructure building, i.e "+2 to prod rocky...", "+2 food rivers...", it should be highlighted or somehow show the actual effects when chosen. Difficult to see what terrain is actually surrounding the city and how much it will affect the city. Love the terrain mechanic btw!

- A bit weird fighting mammoths when progressed to an Ancient culture. Huge leap in time there. 

Wishful thinking: