A touch of background: I am a Civilization veteran, having played the game since Civ2 Gold Edition, and have logged way too many hours in Paradox Interactive games including Stellaris, EU4, and Vicky2.  I've been playing grand-strategy wargames on tabletop (Twilight Struggle, Paths of Glory, Twilight Imperium, Etc. Etc.) and 4x games (Master of Orion, Age of Empires series, Total War series, etc.) for a very long time. I also did very little, if any, reading on Humankind game mechanics, impacts, or meta-discussion before my first time playthrough.  For a less-rambly take away, feel free to scroll down to the bulletpoints.

I just logged my first Beta build game of Humankind, and I have both positive and negative feelings. I like the general 'feel' of the game, and most of the core systems. Exploring is basically fun, battles are fun in terms of raw mechanics, and the economy, while not complicated, is comprehensible and has some depth. This is a game I am not disappointed with my purchase of, and look forward to playing it with randomized maps and more room to spread out into. The bones of this game are extraordinarily solid, which is often the hardest thing. I want to emphasize to the Devs who might read this: I enjoyed my time with the game. But there are improvements that absolutely need to be made.

The problem is that the game's systems are not in tune with one another in terms of how they are paced.