Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

Closed Beta Feedback from My Game

Copied to clipboard!
3 years ago
Jun 21, 2021, 7:12:37 PM

I intended to post my feedback in the dedicated threads, but I found it difficult to put some of these thoughts into those categories. I'll still break most of my feedback into categories, but I think that everything works best together. I played a game over the weekend to 200 turns. It was my second full game in this Closed Beta. I played a bit during the Victor OpenDev, but only a bit. So, I don't have a lot of experience with Humankind. I'm not an expert player. I don't know the best strategies. I just played to have fun. With that in mind...

Overall, I had a lot of fun. I liked making new cities, I like exploring the map, and I liked trying to place districts and grow my populations. The current version of the game is mostly better than the Victor version of the game. But, since this is a beta, I'm going to mostly provide feedback about what I didn't like and what seems broken. I tried to organize my thoughts somewhere, but each category is basically a running log of notes that I took while playing. So, I might sometimes bounce between topics a bit. I hope that's OK. Also, this is going to be a very long post. I don't expect anyone to read it, but I hope that the contents make their way to the developers.

UI

The UI is the most troublesome part of the game for me. It doesn't provide me with enough information to make good decisions and the information that it does provide is hidden behind menus or is otherwise presented in non-intuitive ways. It's really lacking.

• The clock doesn't show in the game screen when that option is enabled in the settings. It does show on the menu screen that pops up after hitting the gear button.
  • When ransacking a sanctuary, I can't see the reward tooltip because my unit flag covers it.