Logo Platform
logo amplifiers simplified

(Probably) Final (For Now) update to inaptly named Balance Overhaul Mod now live

Copied to clipboard!
3 years ago
Nov 11, 2021, 6:08:19 PM

Howdy, folks.

Just wanted to drop a note about the status of the project and let you all know that an update to the mod has been posted. Apologies if anyone's saves broke, that's just how modding works now and it's not like there's a day and time I can be certain that everyone will not be in the middle of a game.

Feel free to skip to the end for a list of the handful of changes in this version, but I wanted to take a minute, since there are people who have downloaded this thing and hopefully enjoyed it, to discuss what it is I'm actually trying to *do*. I am not a game designer. I don't have an instinct for the minutiae of game balance. I may eventually take a stab at specific affinities or cultures, but there are other people who probably have or will have done a better job. In addition, the actual professional developers are still working on the game, and they might "fix" certain aspects better than I could. But in any case, in my opinion, there's a major problem that needs to be addressed before specific changes like that will make much of a difference, and that is that production trumps everything else to such a degree that there aren't really that many meaningful choices to be made when it comes to empire development. Here are my thoughts, I will order them as sensibly as possible but I do have ADHD so bear with me here.